The conference

The European Conference on X-Ray Spectrometry (EXRS) is a biennial conference series that started in 1984 in Goteborg. This conference has become a traditional meeting for scientists from around the world working in x-ray spectrometry or using one of its several techniques: X-ray fluorescence (conventional, micro-fluorescence, synchrotron-based and total-reflection), electron microprobe, PIXE, XRD, etc. It represents an exciting discussion forum for basic research and applications of x-ray spectrometry in a rich variety of fields like materials science, chemistry (analysis of materials, quantification), radiation physics, medicine (medical physics, medical imaging), biology, environment, cultural heritage, technology and industry. EXRS is an opportunity to learn more about the latest in theoretic, experimental and applied XRS, to discuss with people from all over the world, to share your own work and to learn from others.

The scientific program consists of invited lectures from distinguished scientists, oral presentations and poster contributions given by the participants and industrial exhibition and presentations given by the sponsors.

The last two conferences were held in Gothenburg, Sweden 2016 and Bologna, Italy 2014.


  • Interactions of X-rays with matter and fundamental parameters
  • XRS Instrumentation (X-ray sources, optics and detectors)
  • Quantification methodology and metrology
  • TXRF, GIXRF and related techniques
  • Microbeam techniques, confocal XRF and X-Ray imaging
  • Mobile and portable XRF
  • Synchrotron XRS, XAFS, high resolution XES, and RIXS
  • PIXE instrumentation and applications
  • Electron induced XRS
  • X-ray diffraction (XRD)
  • XRS in Art and Cultural Heritage
  • XRS in Advanced Materials and Nanoscience
  • XRS in Earth and Environment sciences
  • XRS in Industrial Quality and Process Control
  • XRS in Life Sciences and Forensics
  • Recent Scientific Developments by XRS Instrumentation Manufacturers (reserved to exhibitors)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Matjaž Kavčič (co-chair)
  • Matjaž Žitnik (co-chair)
  • Mateja Hrast (secretary)
  • Iztok Arčon
  • Žiga Barba
  • Klemen Bučar
  • Mojca Gantar
  • Boštjan Jenčič
  • Mitja Kelemen
  • Alojz Kodre
  • Peter Kump
  • Sabina Markelj
  • Andrej Mihelič
  • Marijan Nečemer
  • Mirko Ribič
  • Matic Pečovnik
  • Primož Pelicon
  • Primož Vavpetič
  • Matjaž Vencelj
  • Anže Založnik

International Advisory Committee

  • Burkhard Beckhoff, PTB, Germany
  • Johan Boman, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Maria Luisa Carvalho, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Roberto Cesareo, University of Sassari, Italy
  • Stjepko Fazinić, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia
  • Jorge E. Fernandez, Alma Mater Studiorum University of Bologna, Italy
  • René Van Grieken, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Yohichi Gohshi, Japan
  • Andreas Karydas, Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics, NCSR “Demokritos”, Greece
  • Marie-Christine Lepy, Laboratoire National Henri Becquerel, Saclay, France
  • Jorge Sanchez, University of Cordoba, Argentina
  • Szabina Török, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • Peter Wobrauschek, Vienna University of Technology, Austria